Header Title
View | Help
Partita No. 3 in E flat
2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 horns, 2 bassoons
Catalogue Number: HV040
Duration: Approx. 15 minutes
Score and parts: £20.00
Skill level (A-E): D
1. Allegro moderato
2. Variazione: moderato

(Audio generated by Sibelius)

Title Page
Title Page

Ignace Joseph Pleyel was born in Ruppersthal on 18 June 1757. His musical future seemed assured from a very young age, studying with the composer Vanhal and then taken under the care and tuition of Haydn, leading to a lifelong friendship between the two. This tuition of the young Pleyel was paid for by Count Ladislaus Erddy. While there it would have been unthinkable that he was not influenced by Mozart, who thought highly enough of Pleyel to write of the latter"s String Quartets Op. 1 (dedicated to Count Erddy): "You will at once recognize in them his master. Fine—and it will be fortunate for music if Pleyel in his time is capable of replacing Haydn for us!" Mozart probably considered Pleyel as a rival, which says much for how well his music was regarded.

Pleyel enjoyed a highly successful career travelling to Italy, London and Paris where he opened a music shop and publishing house. The latter was clearly a success as it put out about 100 editions a year for nearly 40 years, helped no doubt through Pleyel's obvious head for business. As well as this publishing venture he also founded a piano manufacturing company which continues to this day.

Pleyel finally retired in 1824 and moved to a farm about 50 km outside Paris where he died in 1831. He is buried in the Pére Lachaise cemetery in Paris.

This Partita is not listed by Grove, only a Serenade (Partita sextet) of unknown origin. Although the front page of the edition, on which this one is based, indicates that the Partita is by a "Sig. Pleyel" we must treat the provenance of this Partita with caution.

First Movement bar 215 : Entry error (all errors corrected in later printing)
First three notes in oboe 2 should be Eb4 G4 G4
2nd movement bar 80 to 83 : Entry error
Bassoon 1 part should be as shown
2nd movement bars 83 : Entry error
Horn 1 should be (written) D5 throughout bar
2nd movement bars 72 : Entry error
Oboe 2 last note (Eb4) should be crotchet (quarter) note
2nd movement bars 75, 76, 90 and 91 : Editorial addition
Semiquavers should be slurred in group of 6
2nd movement upbeat to bar 80 : Entry error
Oboe 1 should have G5/ not rest
Copyright 2005 – 2023 Hop Vine Music