Header Title
View | Help
A Cambrian Suite
First Edition
oboe, clarinet, piano
Catalogue Number: HV169
Duration: approx. 11 minutes
Score and parts: £20.00
Skill level (A-E): D/E
1. Plynlimon
2. Elan Valley
3. Devil's Bridge Falls

(Audio generated by Sibelius/NotePerformer)

John Frith writes: Having recently relocated to Lampeter in mid Wales I felt the need to reflect something of the imposing beauty of my new surroundings in a new composition. The combination of oboe, bassoon and piano was suggested and these three movements resulted.

PLYNLIMON is the central spine of the Cambrian mountain range. The setting is dawn as the mists slowly clear to reveal the grandeur of this primeval scene.

THE ELAN VALLEY is a well known beauty spot which, on a warm summer day, evokes in me a great sense of well-being

DEVIL’S BRIDGE FALLS provide the backdrop for the last movement in which a lively cascading melody is shared between all three instruments, building to a triumphant conclusion.

Copyright 2005 – 2022 Hop Vine Music