Header Title
View | Help
Partita in E flat
2 clarinets, 2 horns, 2 bassoons
Catalogue Number: HV044
Score and parts: £15.00
Skill level (A-E): D
1. Adagio — Allegro
2. Menuetto e Trio
3. Adagio
4. Rondo: (Allegro)

(Audio generated by Sibelius/NotePerformer)

Manuscript of Clarinet 1
Manuscript of Clarinet 1

Franz Christoph Neubauer was born about the year 1760 in Hořin, nr Mělínk. He was taught music from an early age by the village schoolmaster and was successful enough to go to Prague as a composer and violinist. After completing his studies he became an itinerant musician through Bavaria. He was eventually appointed in a permanent position in Weilburg in 1790. This came to an end when he had to leave because of an invasion of French revolutionary armies. After a number of positions, including as a performer in Hanover, he succeeded J.C.F. Bach at the court in Beckeburg but he died a short time later in 1795 from a reputed drinking problem.

During his relatively short life Neubauer produced a considerable number of works of many types, including sacred music, symphonic works and chamber music such as string quartets. Like many other composers of his time he also wrote several works for Harmonie of which this Partita is one.

Copyright 2007 – 2013 Hop Vine Music