Header Title
View | Help
Three Bagatelles
4 bassoons,
Catalogue Number: HV110
Duration: approx. 9 minutes
Score and parts: £24.00
Skill level (A-E): D
1. Bagatelle I
2. Bagatelle II
3. Bagatelle III

(Audio generated by Sibelius/NotePerformer)

The three movement work for four bassoons and harpsichord, "Le Phénix", was composed by Michel Corrette (1709—1795), who was a Paris organist, composer and author of tutor books for various instruments. He wrote also for the Musette, a bellows-filled type of bagpipe much in vogue in court circles during and after the reign of Louis XIV.

The composer writes that these "Three Bagatelles" were written in an attempt to enlarge the repertoire for the unusual combination of four bassoons and harpsichord.

Copyright 2005 – 2023 Hop Vine Music